Special Committee for Women in Science and Engineering (WISE)

The Association of Academies and Societies of Sciences in Asia (AASSA) established the Special Committee for Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) in 2013. The mission of the WISE committee is to promote issues of importance to women in science and engineering in the Asian and Australasian region. Professor Doe Sun Na, University of Ulsan, South Korea the first Chair of this committee handed over to Professor Cheryl Praeger, Foreign Secretary of the Australian Academy of Science and took over as Chair of this Committee in 2017. During the period held three regional workshops addressing the task of finding ways to empower women in science in Asian countries. This led to the publication of a report “Women in Science and Technology in Asia” in 2015. The report is based on the analysis of the results of a survey of the current situation of women in science in AASSA member countries and has received funds from IAP.

The members of the AASSA-WISE Committee are :

Name Country Member Type

Prof Cheryl Praeger



Dr Elena Gregorieva Russia (Far Eastern) Regular
Prof Nadira Karunaweera Sri Lanka Regular
Prof Azra Khanum Pakistan Regular
Prof Aura Matias Philippines Regular
Prof Tinatin Sadunishvili Georgia Regular
Prof Anjana Singh Nepal Regular
Dr Miyoko Watanabe Japan Regular
Prof Linxiu Zhang China Regular

Prof Arzum Erdem Gursan



Professor Dato Dr Khairul Anuar b. Abdullah



Prof Doe Sun Na

Korea (South)


For more information on the AASSA-WISE committee, refer to the AASSA website.


More on this

Women in Science and Technology in Asia [Download]